Clinical Board

The role of the clinical board is to give expert advice and exhibit leadership on clinical matters. The clinical board is the key Patient Safety body for South Canterbury DHB, and as such has direct links with senior operational management and reports directly to the Board. The clinical board monitors clinical practice and patient safety initiatives across the organisation, identifies areas where an improvement focus is required. The board also receives, and where appropriate, supports new initiatives that will improve clinical practice and patient safety.

Who is the Clinical Board made up of?

Members of the clinical board include representatives from clinical groups across the organisation including nursing, allied health, pharmacy, medical, and cultural representatives.

Current Members
Nigel TrainorChief Executive Officer (Acting Chair)
Lisa BlacklerDirector Patient, Nursing and Midwifery Services
Robbie MoginieDirector Organisational Capability and Safety
Joseph TyroDirector Māori Health
Kera BakerAssociate Director Māori Health
Rene Templeton Director Allied Health, Scientific and Technical
Anna WheelerAssociate Director Nursing and Midwifery
Dr Lik LohChief Medical Officer
Dr Robyn CareyChief Medical Officer
Wendy BuchananPractice Nurse Representative
Maria ParishRegistered Nursing Representative
Jackie GrigsbyRegistered Nursing Representative
Paula Hogg Allied Health, Scientific and Technical Representative
Jill ParkerAllied Health, Scientific and Technical Representative
Karen KennedyPharmacy Representative
Sue EddingtonMāori Representative
Neil KiddeyConsumer Representative
Jane CullimoreConsumer Representative