The Department of Anaesthesia is the largest in the hospital. It currently has 13 permanent anaesthetists, all of whom have undergone specialist training as rigorous as that of a surgeon and who are accredited to specialist level. Additionally, as the only department accredited for advanced specialist training, it welcomes a single registrar on a valued three-month rotation from Christchurch in a formal training relationship that spans over twenty years.

Although traditionally thought of as being an 'operating theatre' specialty, Anaesthetists play a unique and vital role in the delivery of healthcare throughout the hospital and, in certain areas, to the community at large. The list below will give you a flavour of the broad range of skills and expertise that the Department gives to the local community.

  • Operating Theatres: Anaesthesia for all elective and emergency surgery
  • Maternity services: including high-risk anaesthesia assessment and labour analgesia
  • Endoscopy: anaesthesia/sedation support
  • Anaesthesia for Radiology (CT, MRI) and Audiology
  • Emergency Department: advanced care support
  • All inpatient areas: care of the deteriorating and/or critically ill patient
  • Cardiac Arrest and Trauma teams
  • Neonatal Resuscitation: support to Paediatrics
  • Acute Pain service (hospital)
  • Persistent Pain Service*: in-patient care, out-patient clinic and procedures
  • Intensive Care Unit: 'shared care' model with admitting teams
    Advanced expertise in cardio-respiratory support and acute renal replacement therapy
  • Advanced /complex Intravenous Access: to all patient groups including Oncology
  • Liaison Anaesthesia Assessment for regional surgical services

Level 4 Timaru Hospital
Queen Street

Contact Information

Phone: 03 687 2100 ex. 8349

Referral Information

Persistent Pain Service referral to Outpatient Appointment Office